Dropping the D Word: t-minus 5 hours

Ah, DIET, we meet again. Yes.  It is that time.  I have been able to fit medicine, new workout routines, and more rest into my life (all of which could still use a lot more work to perfect), but the one thing I have struggled with the most is diet.  Yes, you heard me.  I am about to embark on a diet, and it is going to be awful (but hopefully that extra push I need).

The idea of dieting has always been a tough one for me, and I feel it is mostly about convenience, or lack thereof.  I try to eat organic, healthy foods, but even that isn’t enough considering how delicate my health is.  I can give up sugar and gluten no problem, but I’ve found that anything more intense is really tough to sustain.  After a long day at school, the last thing I want to do is cook, and making up a missed breakfast on a diet is hard, especially when sugar, grain, and dairy are out.  In the past, my diets have always been about my heath, and this one is no exception.  I told my doctor that I wanted something with guidelines to follow, and he delivered.  Tomorrow, I will be starting the Specific Carbohydrate Diet.  I fully expect to be resentful for the next few days until I adapt.  And then, like with everything else, I’ll be on board.

But I know there will be one really big struggle ahead of me, and that is meat.  I’ve been a vegetarian my whole life.  Yeah.  22 years.  While I have tried meat (especially recently- I’ve managed to choke down some chicken and fish), I have never had it as part of my daily diet.  And I’ve never cooked it.  This is going to be an adventure.

For me to be successful, I need to to commit 100%- there is no half way, no trying.  I either do it, or I don’t.  So I am going to dive in.  If I want to be well enough to take my planned course load next spring, I am out of time (and even now, it is probably too late.  But never too late to try).  It is now or never, and I am determined.

So, how have your diets treated you?  I’d love to know if you have any tips for making this a success.  I will definitely let you all know how it is going.

xoxo

Hannah

Leave a Reply

